Leader of the Band

Happy Dad’s day to all the fathers out there. I’ll be calling my dad later today, as it sounds like he has a lot of visitors this afternoon.

Mom told me she was jealous when I told her at the age of 14 that Dad and I had gone for a ride in the country and he was singing. She said he didn’t sing for her in the car anymore. But on that drive on the Farandsville Road along the West Branch of the Susquehanna, I recall him belting out in his rich baritone songs like “I Go to the Garden Alone” and “The Old Rugged Cross.”

As far as I know, he never led a band, but metaphorically, this is one of two songs I always think of when I think about Dad. The other one is more recent and we played it here before on Jeff’s Song of the Day, “Most of All,” by Brandi Carlile.

But with just a bit of non literal poetic license, this is the song I could see myself singing for him. It was written for Dan Folgerberg’s father and was released in 1981 when it reached number one on the charts, just one year before Dan’s father passed away.

I’m lucky to still have a father who is still around. My best and warmest thoughts to you whatever your family situation. Whomever you are celebrating today, I hope you can do so with gratefulness.

Leave a comment