Sister Golden Hair, by America

Well, we have run out of space odysseys and space oddities, but we have not run out of killer soundtracks in Timmy Chalamet movies! Actually, there are the movies Interstellar and the Dune series, both with brilliant and moving soundtracks by Hans Zimmer, but gorgeous as those are, they are all instrumental, and not what we are looking for on Song of the Day. So the movie connection today will be more, shall we say, down to earth.

Today’s song is one I have loved since the first time I heard it, which had to be when I was no younger than eight years old. America (yes kids, that’s the name of the band—see the movie clip below) released the tune on their third album, Hearts, in 1975.

I’ve heard people compliment this semi-daily music post as being diverse and that they often hear new music they really like. That makes me very happy, but at the same time, like many of you, I love to hear a nostalgic classic from time to time as well, especially when it’s one that doesn’t get the airplay I think it deserves.

Miss Stevens is another little film from the mid twenty teens, and while the trailers might make you think it’s one thing, if you can handle this mild spoiler, I assure you that while the movie gets a bit tense, it is also just so wholesome and satisfying to watch. That leads us into today’s bonus music scene. Our man Timmy is playing a troubled teen with a great deal of talent and skill in the drama department. He, three fellow students, and their teacher, played by Lily Rabe, are on their way to a drama competition, the winning of which would help their school qualify for more arts grants. Yes, it’s nerdy tense.

Usually, I put the bonus clip after the main song, but today, let’s flip it around as a good intro to the whole enchilada. First, here are a few of my favorite lines from the song, which I think just has killer lyrics:

Well, I tried to make it Sunday, but I got so damn depressed
That I set my sights on Monday and I got myself undressed

Now I’ve been one poor correspondent
And I’ve been too, too hard to find
But it doesn’t mean you ain’t been on my mind

No, here’s the cast of Miss Stevens with the band America.

3 thoughts on “Sister Golden Hair, by America

Leave a comment