We Will Survive, with Cake

Cake would definitely help. German chocolate with chocolate icing, please. I don’t know what it is about this week, but I’m feeling worn out and sore again. Maybe it’s the rain moving through, but also, sleep has not been the best this week. But hey, there will be poems read at a pub this evening, and yesterday I saw a lifer bird: my first Loggerhead Shrike!

Image by PublicDomainImages from Pixabay

And we’re plugging away here with a busy library today, and when I said I didn’t have a song for the day yet, Mitch suggested Cake’s version of a song made famous by Gloria Gaynor, “I Will Survive.” How did I never see this music video before! It’s genius, and the subtle things done with the song make it something entirely different from the disco ballad that I also love.

So, from Cake’s 1996 album (remastered in 2017), Fashion Nugget, here is your Thursday boost of encouragement. We are going to be alright. Hang in there.

2 thoughts on “We Will Survive, with Cake

Leave a comment