Do You Remember Your First?

There are these trends on social media. My older gen X brain sometimes puts them in the same category as those old chain emails. You quote someone else’s post on the same topic and add your own information or answer to a question. It’s usually something like “Share the fourth photo on your phone’s camera roll, no explanation.” Or it may be what are your top favorite bands from the 90’s?

The one that sparked my memory banks this past week was asking about the first album you bought with your own money. That’s a tough one. As Brian said, it’s that “with your own money” part that makes it difficult. I remember asking Dad for money for things, but it took me a while to learn that if I asked to “borrow” money for something, he expected it back. Finally one day he said I could try just asking, so I asked for money for the movies. I got it, no questions asked! I guess Dad was good at all kinds of life lessons, including that it’s okay to just ask.

But with my own money? My first job was at a donut shop called Mister Donut, later bought out by Dunkin, I think, but I also did chores and odd jobs for cash sometimes, including baby sitting my numerous nieces and nephews. Still, it’s cloudy. Where did I get the cash?

As best I can recall, I think my first was Asia’s first and self-titled album. I remember listening to it while hanging out at Jim’s house where he had it on vinyl. We used to listen to Prince. And that’s where Jim introduced me to the Moody Blues too. I didn’t have a stereo like his, but I had a tape deck, so I purchased it on cassette. Yes friends, this was early 80’s, just before the dawning of compact disc popularity.

This album, released in 81, was top of the charts in the US by 1982, with their first single, “Heat of the Moment,” becoming their biggest hit. However, my favorite song from that album is one you probably are familiar with. I couldn’t believe I was hearing it over the speakers in the grocery store one day recently, but the horns at the beginning are unmistakable.

So here we go back to a time when teen boys were playing Dungeons and Dragons and listening to Asia’s “Only Time Will Tell” when the song was brand new. Find a place to sit and listen with us, please pardon the dirty socks on the chair.

Oh, and who was your first? Album, I mean!

3 thoughts on “Do You Remember Your First?

Leave a comment