The Middle, Trampled by Turtles

Those of you here who were on my brother’s old mailing list, do you recall his emails about the tortoise that was burrowing in his back yard? I’ve looked it up and I’m pretty sure it’s the gopher tortoise. Jeff kept reporting back about his morning and evening chats with this tortoise who had made a burrow in his back yard. Whatever they talked about, I could tell they both were enjoying the discussion. The adults tend to zoom off to their burrows when approached, but he would sit there quietly with this guy over coffee before work every morning.

Gopher Tortoise image by Paul Brennan from Pixabay

Fun fact: According to the National Marine Sanctuary Foundation, “all tortoises are technically considered turtles, but not all turtles are tortoises.” I admit, I didn’t dig much deeper than that, so feel free to follow that link and let me know what you learn.

Yesterday we were in the air and in the wet fields with meadowlarks and snipe, but today we are in the gritty ground of southern forests with the gopher tortoise.

Today’s band was suggested to me at work and now I’m hooked. I love a little blue grass and folk harmony. Throw in a banjo and a fiddle and I’m all in. Here’s Trampled by Turtles, from five years back on KEXP, performing “The Middle.”

Leave a comment